Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Mustangs 2023 Awards Banquet Recap

On Saturday, March 4, the Melfort Mustangs held their annual Awards Banquet at the Kerry Vickar Centre in Melfort. It was an excellent night of food, awards, companionship, and more. Here are the award winners for 2023. You can head to the Mustangs Facebook page to see all the pictures.

Scholastic Achievement (Assaly Jewelers) – Riley Ashe

Community Involvement (Leonard Strandberg) – Wyatt Day

Most Improved Player (Dr. Todd Siwak – Presented by Dr. Carol Reddin) – Zac Somers

Most Spirited Player (Cheyenne GM) – Leith Olafson

Most Popular Player (Dale Frier – 1st President) – Wyatt Cook

Most Dedicated Player (Henry Hangs Memorial) – Clarke Huxley

Hardest Working Player (Darin Placsko Drywall) – Ben Tkachuk

3 Star Selection (Pattison Media) – Aidyn Hutchinson

Plus/Minus Award (SpaFit by Linda) – Dawson Leroux

Kyle Johnson Memorial Award – Dawson Leroux

Crunch Award (Most Hits) (Bill (Buff) Reid) – Boston Maxwell

Dylan Ashe Memorial Scholarship – Clarke Huxley

Hardest Hitter Award (Vital Signs and Graphics) – Hayden Tuba

Top Defensive Forward (MNP) – Zac Somers

Top Defensive Defenceman (Redhead Equipment) – Leith Olafson

Rookie of the Year (Melody Motors) – Riley Ashe

Fan Choice Award (Through Social Media) – Leyton Holoien & Joel Favreau

Most Valuable Defenceman (Prince Albert Source for Sports) – Leyton Holoien & Kevin Minnoch

Most Valuable Player (George Home Hardware) – Joel Favreau & James Venne


20-year-old Graduates: